Server Shenannigans

July 8, 2008 at 10:29 am (Uncategorized) (, , )

Was anyone else around last night who had to experience the “World of Warcraft Server Follies”? Quite the show, wasn’t it? Maybe it was just on Turalyon, but it was interesting.

We’d decided to hit up Heroic Mech for some badges with some guildies when people started having lag. Ok, well that, happens, but not usually to 20 people at once. Guild chat was filling up with comments. I happened to have just died in Mech, so I attempted to release as our Paladin was one of the ones having problems, and it wouldn’t let me. After several attempts, including using the repop script commands and no success, Martin had me Alt+F4 out and relog. At which point, this happened:

Floating Mech

Floating Mech

And this:

Moar Floating Mech

Moar Floating Mech

If you look closely you can see in the first picture that the people I was with are still standing in what used to be the hallway before Capacitus. You can even see the elevator in the background. In the second screencap you can see Capcitus himself having a jolly old time floating in space with his buddies, all hippedy hopping around in the clouds and stars of deep Netherstorm.

The best part was that, when I hit release, I fell through the sky and disappeared and could see nothing but stars. And I still took falling damage! Every time I hit release, I died again and took falling damage. At one point our Pally got back, walked into the middle of empty space, rezzed me, and I fell and died again. By the time the servers got back to normal 30 minutes later my gear was busted and it cost me 16g to repair. I was unhappy…but it was still pretty damned funny.

3 Comments

  1. Loronar said,

    The rarer the crashes, the more interesting they are. The Outland server once crashed for us, sending an influx of alts into the old world and seeing the guild list populated with non-70s. It was kinda funny.

  2. Igalicious said,

    Well… lookie there, now I see what you were saying. All I got was bad lag, you got a whole freakin’ show! Ahh, our H-Mech runs, good times, good times… And it’s always interesting to see how other’s have their screens set up. How do you live with SO few icons in your action bars? I thought you were a point & click gal, like me. I’m currently looking into getting a mod for MORE action bars… stupid hunter’s having lots of crap to click… and there you are, not even using all of what they give you. Tsk tsk tsk. 😉

  3. raidedm said,

    Hey, now. We rogues don’t have as many thingies to worry about. You should see my mage’s screen. Now there’s some screen real estate that’s at a premium. I’d consider the action bar thing, but I understand that Carn seems to have misplaced his XP bar. 😉

Leave a Reply

